GF Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

IMG_0646

Let me tell you about how good this pie is.

This is better than the store, better than real-flour-crust, knock your socks off good.

IMG_0639

I made this pie at Thanksgiving because I wanted to make sure there was a me-friendly (i.e. no gluten) dessert.  And since bourbon is one of the tastiest things under the sun, and I have never made a pie from scratch… I took a drink, rolled up my sleeves, and made a pie!

My cousin Owen said this might be his new favorite pie.  I ate it for breakfast the next day.  And then maybe for lunch.

IMG_0648

Dixie wanted some pie.  But it has chocolate.

I’m pretty sure she sneaks bourbon from my class when I’m not looking, so it really was only the chocolate that stopped her from getting a piece.

IMG_0652

This pie takes at least five hours.  This is not a pie for the rushed.  This is not a pie you make for your barely-know-you-neighbors.  This is the pie that I will make for the man I decide to marry.  This is the pie I’ll make for my children’s fiancees (but only if I approve).  This is a pie whose secret ingredient is love…because five hours of baking and waiting and baking cannot happen without love.

…the necessities for the crust…

  • 1 1/2 c. gf flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 3/4 c. COLD butter (mine was in the freezer from the night before)
  • 4-6 Tbsp. ice water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves

…the necessities for the filling

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c. pecans
  • 1 c. semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips (I use Ghirardelli and never use Nestle.  Joy the Baker told me about the actual amount of cocoa in the chips…it’s not much.)
  • 1/3 c. heavy cream
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. dark corn syrup
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. bourbon (I used Buffalo Trace – delish!)
  • 1 Tbsp. + 1 tsp. corn starch
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

…the steps, start to end…

1)  Every tool you use needs to be cold.  This will also require a food processor.  Put the food processor blade and exterior ‘bowl’ into the freezer.  Put your mixing bowl in the freezer.  (Thanks to the Gluten-Free Girl for this advice!)  Do something productive (like measuring out and gathering ingredients) for 30 minutes.

2)  Reassemble food processor.  Mix all dry ingredients.  Put in food processor.  Cut butter (from freezer) and pulse together into the food processor with dry ingredients.  Should resemble an odd, sandy mix with lumpy bits.

3)  Add ice water 1 Tbsp. at a time.  Pulse a few times, then grab a handful (not while your pulsing…).  If it sticks together, it is done.  if it does not stick together, add another Tbsp. of water.

4)  Roll onto a well-greased/well-floured surface.  Honestly, I tried my best at this.  I ‘rolled’ it out, and then I just threw it into the glass pie pan I used and pressed it into the pan.  Is it perfect this way?  No.  Did anyone notice as they ate it?  No.  One day in the future, I’ll perfect the prettiness.  For now, though, it is what it is.

5)  Cover with tinfoil and place in the fridge for 45 minutes.

6)  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Make sure you have one rack near the bottom of the oven, one rack at the half-way point in the oven.  After crust is done with the fridge, place pie weights (or tinfoil with dry beans on top) in the crust.  Bake for 30 minutes on the half-way rack.

7)  Cool completely.  It will look like this when you are done.

IMG_0640

 

8)  Check the oven – make sure it is still at 375 and start preheating…again!  Because it’s… filling time!  In a large bowl, beat the eggs, cream, sugars, syrup, butter, and salt.  Then, have a sip of bourbon.  For real.

 

IMG_0645

9)  Add vanilla and bourbon to your filling. Stir.  Add 3/4 c. of your pecans (so you have some left over).

10)  Put chocolate chips into the pie crust.  Gently pour the rest of the pie filling over the chocolate chips.  Sprinkle remaining pecans over the top.

(Do this step slowly!  My pie pan was filled precariously to the edge…these next steps involved much balancing and muttering under my breath because of this.)

IMG_0644

11)  Carefully place your pie on the half-way rack.  On the bottom rack, put a cookie sheet to catch any pie drippings.  Bake for 30 minutes.

12)  Remove pie.  It should look something like this…

IMG_0647

…but it’s NOT DONE!!!  Cover the pie with tented tinfoil (if the tinfoil touches the middle of the pie, it will mess up the prettiness that now exists.  Lower the oven to 350 degrees and bake for 35-45 minutes.  (When you lightly shake the pie, the middle should not move…that’s how you know it is done.)

13)  When there is not crazy jiggling happening with the pie, it has finished baking.  Set aside so it can cool for 30 minutes.  Then serve.

Don’t be scared if people start making funny sounds and their eyes roll back into their heads.  It’s just that good.

 

Leave a Reply

