happy 2013

IMG_0682

 

Another year has passed!

I hope that 2012 was a wonderful year for you.  While it wasn’t a stunner for me, I do love how it went smoothly and kindly from day to day, month to month.  There is something to be said for quiet and calm instead of chaos.

My 2012 was filled with donuts, cakes, bourbon, and pies.  There was time with family, time with friends, and time on my own.  There were books read (though not enough), and stories written (though not enough).  I discovered the deliciousness of kale and the delight of homemade soups.  I began planning a trip to Ireland.  I ran a 5k.  I began the harrowing process of learning to be good with myself (again).  I discovered bourbon & ginger beer.  Yum.

I have trouble with new year’s resolutions as I never accomplish what I want to do.  If I resolve to lose weight (don’t most women?) and don’t, I feel extra insecure.  If I resolve to workout and stop going to whatever class I sign up for, I feel extra guilty.  (And then eat more, which doesn’t help.)  One year, I vowed to write a book.  I got 1/3 of the way through before I stopped.

So, this year, I’m just vowing one thing.  Resolving myself to one thing.

2013 Resolution: find what brings happiness to my heart

This might mean ending some parts of my world which no longer make me happy.  This definitely means beginning new adventures.  There will definitely be food.  And I will photograph that food with something besides my phone (what’s the point of having a fancy camera if I can’t photograph yummy food with it?).  I think I’m going to cut back on running as it is messing with my knee, which does not make my heart happy.  I will go to Ireland (squeee!) in the spring, Annapolis and D.C. at the start of summer, and definitely fit in another city this year.

Most importantly, I will write.  On the blog, for my stories…and not because I have to finish a book.  I will write because I have stories that I want to tell.  I think if I focus back on the story, I will enjoy writing again.

I will continue drinking bourbon & ginger beer.  Because that is delicious.

Leave a Reply

